2017 STARTED OUT WITH A BANG

I can’t remember getting highway and road temperatures with the news until yesterday. It got downright cold and windy, but warm and toasty inside my condo. Didn’t really see all that much snow around here, but in other counties, they got 3-5 inches. Snow isn’t bad, it’s what it covers —ICE. The cold weather, snow, and hills are for the young. Yes, even the young at heart, but not the actual actions. Went out this afternoon to check on my car, thought about going for a short drive to rev up the motor, but the cold impact on my chest kept my breath from behaving as normal. So, came back inside and stared out the windows. Don’t get me wrong, I love the cold weather, snow, and being bundled up, but need a little more to keep warm.
So, here I am writing to all of you and hoping all of you have had a beautiful New Year Week. I received an email from my friend, Kevin, and he and his wife have gotten a third grandchild from their daughter and son-in-law.  Guess the wait was worth it….little girl, and since she was born around Christmas/New Years, her name is EVE.  We have not met for our critique on writings as the baby was expected at any time. Now, we can make a date to meet, relax, and I can find out more about the new little girl.
I am so surprised at myself…..thought retirement would be a blast. Now, I find myself waking up without the alarm, yeah at the same old-time, not getting done what I used to have accomplished by ‘going to work’ time, and getting bored. No, I have plenty to do, writing to revise, writing to get done, and even the closets have had two or three changes. Can’t do more than that or I’ll have nothing else to do. NO, just kidding. I have learned something else; when you work, you become more efficient with everything you do. When, there is nothing pushing you, I tend to drag my feet.
I find myself at the Library quite often researching for new material to read, new ideas to incorporate into my own writing, and getting to know the staff. They are a great group of librarians and representatives of the Buckhead Library. Now, I have the time to enjoy their expertise, instead of running in, searching, running out and oh, yeah, checking out the books. Then, I get to have the time to sit and read what I bring home.
What do you find yourself doing in this beginning of the New Year? I would love to hear from all of you with just a short note. You can send a message as a comment to my post or as an email to wildwriter521@gmail.com. Promise to put some comments and notes in my post and give you some feedback. Your suggestions and comments are important to me.
Be interesting to see what happens tomorrow. Thank goodness, our church starts later and hope the ice will have melted a little more. Although, at last report, the roads will still be at or under the freezing temps.
May each of you experience joy and new avenues during 2017. Be open and receptive to different opportunities. Who knows? You may find new friends, new roads to travel, and be fulfilled with gratitude to all you meet. Indulge in the unknown. You just might be surprised.
HAPPY NEW YEAR.
Patricia.
