DO YOUR CHARACTERS APPRECIATE THEIR AUTHOR?

What a puzzling question? This came to me as I was revising some pages of a new novel in process. I read through and decided this needed to be changed, the flow might fit better if these paragraphs were moved to another section, and for some reason my character’s name became a prominent area. During the writing process, my character had grown up and was not happy with her girlhood name or nickname. Why hadn’t I noticed this before? Because my character and characters were quiet, letting me take them into uncharted areas. Not anymore.
As I attempted to revise, making notes as I changed a scene, I found my fingers did not flow over the keys. I misspelled words, left words out, and forgot dates that at first were SO important. My characters did not just play with me, they turned obstinate. I felt their heels dig into the page and no amount of pressure on the keys made them move. Giving them some room to realize their stubbornness, I paged forward to another chapter. Same scenario. Why do you hate me when I am trying to bring you to a new story and become ALIVE?
Now what? I’m one-hundred pages into this new novel, research done, a critique partner okay with the first fifty or so pages, so I saved this version and started a new version with a different title.
The story line I kept in tact, but changed the location Hey my fingers are flowing over the keys. Next, my main character showed up without an invitation and began crawling through my thoughts. I listened and learned she did not like her name, the color of her hair and was NOT a teenager any longer. When had she grown up? Because this was MY story to write and she was only a character. WRONG. At the beginning, I created her, but as the story proceeded into new and different areas, I forgot to grow my character and it was retaliation time again.
We took a trip together and became writer, character, and friends again. She let me know with keystrokes what she wanted  and if now, well you guessed. . . . my fingers hit the wrong keys. Sometimes, it is so hard to be a creator of characters, an author who follows some of their wishes, and in the end makes the story shine.
Make sure you give your characters a wide array of choices and let them lead your fingers to the ‘write’ keys. This keeps everyone happy and your story will flow from author to character and from character to author.
HAPPY CHARACTERS.  HAPPY AUTHOR.  HAPPY STORY.  HAPPY WRITING.

 

 

 

 

 

