CAN’T BELIEVE IT – BUT I DID IT

BlogI took a look at the last date I blogged…no way…and shook my head. All of the reasons why fell out on the screen in front of me.

More radiation treatments. Stop. These do not affect my fingers or my thoughts. Then I watched the hands on the clock move faster and faster. Whoops! I did not manage my time with efficiency. Intrusions into my writing time peered through some of the words. I should have, could have, but did not, turn off the television, put the cell phone on ‘do not disturb,’ and put the two-sided sticky tape on my computer chair. (Known as BIC.) Chores loomed in front of my eyes as I saw laundry pile up, the vacuum cleaner still in its hiding place, the fridge taking on the appearance of empty, and the cupboards in the same category. Yep, need to take time to shop, clean, and cook. So what? These can be done little by little, Hey, I did let the dust bunnies have some fun. Over extending time for various programs, like volunteering, was something else I needed to check out.

All of these took first position and my writing got what was left over. I was out of whack. Then came our Georgia Romance Writers Conference, Moonlight & Magnolias for 2015. What a blessing. As I entered the hotel, high energy flowed through me. I am with other writers in various stages of their careers. All I left at home, undone, disappeared. Classes were geared toward new publishing trends, technology, and Revisions from Hell. Time to discuss, everything, share new insights, and applaud the MAGGIE Winners. Something new was added this year,  ‘WRITE IN’ for three hours on Friday night. Saturday the comments were staggering:  I wrote 3,000 words, I got a new story started, and heard one lady comment, there were so many words making my fingers work, that next year I’ll bring a tape recorder. (Sorry, but it is not the same talking as feeling the words fall off your fingertips.)

Of course, the Maggie Banquet brought out the yells and hollers for our own winners. Let the dancing begin. No not the regal dancing, but writers, turned loose on the dance floor using their imagination and energy to celebrate.

So, If any of this fits you, turn yourselves toward the computer and let your fingers fly. If you need encouragement, watch the dust bunnies and feel your writing take a new adventure.

Happy Writing.

