MEET PROF. RICHARD KREVOLIN

image001A little background before the interview, so you can get to know Prof. Richard Krevolin. Richard attended Yale University earning an Undergraduate Degree in History. He earned a Master’s Degree in Screenwriting at UCLA’s School of Cinema-Television and a Master’s Degree in Playwriting and Fiction from USC. He has been Adjunct Professor at USC Cinema/TV school, UCLA Film School, Emerson College, Ithaca College , Pepperdine and UGA. He has authored Screenwriting in the Land of Oz (Adams Media), Screenwriting from the Soul (St. Martin’s Press), Pilot Your LIfe (Prentice-Hall), How To Adapt Anything into A Screenplay (Wiley & Sons), and The Transcript (A story about reclaiming the potential of your business by using the three-step MAPP process.)  He is also the author of the Young Adult book series, Tales of the Truly Grotesque, Max Holt, Ultra-Mega-Super-Secret–Boy and Doug P Mountain Dog and The Golden Bone. His consulting work has affected hundreds of TV commercials produced all over the world winning the Golden Lions at Cannes and The People Choice Award in China. He conducts writer’s workshops and corporate storytelling seminars throughout the world.

I could go on and on, but then the interview would never get done. Please check online for all of his accomplishments. NOW THE INTERVIEW:

HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING?

Since I can remember. I actually found an old Abbot and Costello script that I wrote when in the fourth grade. That’s going way back.

WHAT ATTRACTED YOU TO WRITING?

The glamorous lifestyle 🙂

HOW ARE YOU ABLE TO SWITCH FROM NOVEL, TO NON-FICTION, TO SCREENWRITING, AND PLAY WRITING?

It’s refreshing to switch genres, and I think it makes me a better writer.

HOW DO IDEAS FOR ALL OF YOUR WRITING COME TO YOU?

Every which way. Things I see and hear. Conversations I have. Things I read. Dreams, Fantasies, Mostly from my day-to-day interactions with people and literature.

HOW DO YOU FIGURE OUT WHAT TO NAME YOUR CHARACTERS?

I listen to the sound of the letters together in the name and see if that sounds feels right for that person.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE THING ABOUT WRITING?

I love those timeless moments when the writing pours out of you and the pages flow onto the computer, and not have a real job.

WHAT IS YOUR LEAST FAVORITE THING ABOUT WRITING?

The days it doesn’t flow.

HOW DO YOU RESPOND TO A NEGATIVE REVIEW?

I go work out and vow never to read reviews again.

DO YOU HAVE A FAVORITE QUOTE?

Passion, patience, and perseverance – – that is all.

WHEN YOUR NOVEL, SCREENPLAY OF PLAY GETS PUBLISHED, WHO WOULD YOU LIKE TO SEE AS THE HEROINE AND HERO?

Depends on the piece. But in the end, the writer doesn’t have a say in this.

IF YOU COULD LIVE ONE OF THE STORIES OF A BOOK YOU’VE READ, WHICH ONE AND WHY?

I love THE GAME OF THRONES, series, but wouldn’t want to live in that world; instead would probably want to be Harry Potter. Who wouldn’t?

DO YOU HAVE AN ODD QUIRK THAT IS NOT KNOW OR KNOWN BY A FEW?

I get paid by the hour to work in bed. THAT IS…I write and consult on my laptop and my bedroom is my office.

THE LAST QUESTION, PROMISE, WHAT IS STORY CONSULTING?

I am not an editor. I work with writers to develop their stories. I work with writers on growing their stories and in doing so, they also grow as writers. It is an amazing process and I am happy being a part of this.

Thanks, Richard. I appreciate your time and thoughts. Hope to see you again in Atlanta.

For all readers, this is only a small part of the Professor. Go to his website: http://www.profk.com. and check out opportunities for you, your writing, and your stories.

