FREE FRIDAY

9776003-audienceDoes this look like we are all standing around wondering what comes next? Might be a great place to introduce to you your FREE FRIDAY.  My computer is still undergoing diagnostic measures, but got a call I can pick it up on, you guessed it, Friday. Since my old laptop is still in the working mode, thought it best to give you some good news.

Sometimes, we all need to just stop, take a breath, relax and look at a movie. WHAT??? I have books to read for reviews, pitches to make, press releases to send out, emails and more emails to answer, and you want me to watch a movie? Yes.

What I want to suggest, is not any movie, but a movie from an indie film. This can be a straight indie film, or a foreign indie film. The one where the sub-titles run at the bottom.  Years ago, when I was among the women at a nine-to-five job, I belonged to a Key Sunday Cinema Club. Wow, this was one thing I hated to give up on retirement. I joined the Winter and Spring groups. After paying for my club dues, I received a ticket for the Sunday morning performance of the movie, about once every two-three weeks. I never knew what would be showing, and this became part of the anticipation. The theatre was packed and everyone seemed to know everyone there. We were handed a card to complete AFTER the film, a small sheet showing information on the film we were to see that Sunday, and then the screen dominated the whole theatre. After the movie, there was a talk about the film, from the Emory University Arts/Film Department, or an actor in the film, or even the producer. The cards we filled out about our likes, dislikes, thoughts, and anything we wanted to jot down. This went to Emory and to the Producer(s) of the film. Each time we returned, we received feedback from our previous show. I’d thought about this since my computer was out of whack and here’s something for you do with your Free Friday.

Go to your library and check out a movie. Make sure it is something you’ve never seen, and that it is an indie film. I’ve kept three or four videos you might like to look at: The Red Violin, Koyla, The Spanish Prisoner, Ponette, Hedwig and the Angry Inch. But, look for something that interests you.

Sit back, turn off the cell, the lights, and get involved in the scenes before you. Watch, listen, and if a foreign film, pay particular attention to facial expressions, body movements, lighting, sounds – hey you know what to look for. You are a writer and this is how you should look at the film. Scrutinize this piece of work like you are critiquing another writer. What do you feel? What is the arc? Can you feel the emotions? Is your heart racing? Are your eyes dry? Get into the movie with your writer’s mind, heart, and feelings. This is why I suggest indie film or foreign film. The fluff is deleted and you get the meat of the story.

Now, sit back and see what you can jot down with your pen and paper. Can you see any different avenues to make your characters come more alive? Is there any new movement or emotion you can give your character(s) that will make the reader experience the “oops, I’m this character.” Remember, movies show and show and show. We see everything, feel everything, breathe with the characters. Now, do the same with your writing. Take your reader into the hearts of your characters and let them breathe, feel, and be the character.

Enjoy your FREE FRIDAY, and don’t forget the popcorn.

Happy Writing.

 

