NO WRITING FINGER DAYS

images_064Have you ever had those days when your mind races and thoughts fall out of orifices you never knew existed? You race to your I-Pad, cell phone to text yourself, your home computer, and your fingers cannot find the keys. You stare at a blank screen with your fingers poised over the keys and nothing happens. NOTHING.  Your fingers are paralyzed.

I’ve had these days, no make that nights, when sleep evades the body and the mind overtakes everything. I get up and creep to my computer. At this time of morning, noise travels. I push the button, click on a small desk lamp, and the keyboard remains silent. I want to shake my head over the keys, hoping thoughts will do the work for me. NOTHING.

In my stocking feet, I slide over the floors in quiet mode. I search for my old, very old recorder. Would it still work? Is there a tape in it? All this time, thoughts are strangling my mind needing to be heard. Nothing works. NOTHING.

My last resort is pen and paper. I grab a notebook and search for blank pages. I reach for another one and search again. The gods are against my mind explosion. The pen gives out of ink. The pencil lead breaks. Ingenuity. I need ingenuity and find an old tube of lipstick. Here I sit, at three a.m. in my p.j.bottoms, an old t-shirt, socks covering my feet, and a notebook in my lap. My hand is poised over the paper with a red lipstick tube. I scribble and I scribble. My fingers curl around the tube of blood as words dribble and slide over the lined paper. But, not on the lines. My words spill sideways, from corner to corner, up and down, and I don’t care. My fingers are working. About an hour later, more notebooks, and another old tube of red lipstick, my mind slows town. Are all the words out?

I look at the pages and cannot read my own notes, lines, squiggles, and some of the blood lipstick has smeared. Yet, I feel elated with energetic fingers.

Go for the FREEDOM. Set yourselves up to a different prospective. Do not always stay in the same position over a keyboard. Invent new ways to take your creative endeavors to higher levels.

I now keep pens with new ink cartridges and fresh lipstick tubes in blood-red, close by. I am ready for the next – no finger days.

I’d love to hear how you overcome your “OFF” writing days.

HAPPY WRITING ANYWHERE.

 

11 thoughts on “NO WRITING FINGER DAYS

  1. I was recommended this blog by means of my cousin. I’m now
    not certain whether or not this publish is written by means of him
    as no one else understand such targeted about my problem.
    You’re incredible! Thank you!

    • So happy you enjoyed this blog and love to hear when something I wrote has helped another. Please continue to follow and I hope blogs will help you. Have fun and thanks.

  2. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before
    but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m certainly pleased I found it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back often!

  3. I don’t even know how I finished up right here, but I believed this put up was
    once great. I do not recognize who you’re but certainly you are going to a
    well-known blogger in case you aren’talready. Cheers!

  4. Wonderful article! That is the type of info that are
    meant to be shared around the internet. Disgrace on Google for not positioning this puut up upper!
    Come on over andd discuss with my site . Thanks =)

Comments are closed.