RESOLUTIONS? NO. A NEW WAY? YES

images_126Here we are in the period between Christmas and New Year. I get asked the same questions every go-around. “Did you make your New Year Resolutions?” My answer is always, “No.” People look like I am from some unknown species.

My thoughts….you can write something down with blue/black/red/purple ink on a piece of white/beige, notebook, or journal paper. Yes, anyone can do this and within 24 hours, one resolution is down the drain. Or you can go for weeks, even a couple of months, and then you fall off the wagon, so to speak. Your attitude turns sour, you consider yourself breakable, and you give up on all the other resolutions. Do not fear . . . you are not alone.

You want the best for yourself, and who doesn’t, but you cannot change all aspects of your life overnight. Yet, in the small time frame of the New Year, you are supposed to make yourselves over beginning in the next twenty-four hours. Go girl. Go guy. And when you find all the answers, please let me know. Nah, be kind and keep your answers to yourselves.

Have I made these famous “resolutions?” Sure. Do I make them any more? “No.” I make challenges to myself and here are some of my ways to push forward, when all else fails. Simplicity is a great companion and is always there, if you let different ideas into your head, heart, and mind.

Write yourself a letter with pen and paper. Let ideas flow from your head, down to your heart, through the pen in hand, and onto the paper. What do you want to do in the next year? What do you want to accomplice? What big surprise would you like to happen for you. Put some thought and effort into your letter. Be honest with yourself and do not go overboard. These ideas are yours, make them realistic.

When you finish, read your letter out loud to yourself, fold, and slide into an envelope marked:  FOR:__________________ (your name) OPEN: DECEMBER 31, 2014. Seal and put in a safe place for the next year. You can look at the sealed envelope, you can think about the items on the paper, BUT DO NOT OPEN. You will surprise yourself and feel good about you and your letter.

How do I know? I’ve done this for years. Sometimes things change and sometimes a subtle difference sneaks into my life. One request I have made over and over for a long time came true in 2013 – to get my novel published. Soul Mate Publishing offered me a contract for “Crushed Circle,” and we signed on December 9, 2013. Publication date still unknown. When I know, you will too. Will I stop the letter to myself. “NO.” I have more books to publish, more books to write, and when I open my letter on December 31, 2013, I will know what other things have happened this year.

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO EVERYONE – ALL THE READERS, FOLLOWERS, WRITERS. GET BUSY WITH YOUR LETTER AND SEE WHAT POSSIBILITIES LIE AHEAD FOR YOU IN 2014.

Patricia

