WITHDRAWL SYMPTOMS

99440ac3-d93e-450b-a356-69420d72c9e5My last post was the end of January and now I can see Valentine’s Day everywhere. My computer gave me a long sigh. I rushed her, yes, I do give names to my toys, and after an extensive diagnosis, the results came back. Did I like them. NO. Then I remembered she gave me almost nine years of constant response. Maybe the time came for me to let her rest and be at peace for all the joy she gave me. So, the tech suggested we look for a comparable to her, or if not, one I could work with. I found one I thought might work.

Now, I am frightened. Lennie wants to give me Windows 8; Acer gave me Vista, which I know forwards and backwards. Lennie offers Office 2013, and I’m used to Acer’s one click.

Okay. I’m an old-fashioned girl and comfortable with what I know. Look at this another way:  I have a car, Subie, who turns 20 this year. Do you thinek I’d let her alone in my city? No way. She and I will be together until, the mechanic says the dreaded words – we need to put her down. At this time, you will hear a loud scream, cry, tears, and then redemption and a saving grace to her.

I finally got a cell phone. My son made this a prerequisite for his calling. His words, “You cannot be without immediate connection driving to and from wherever you go” I use this for emergencies. Then when I needed to contact someone; I’d forgotten to re-charge the batteries.

No, I’m not confused. No, I’,m not opposed to new and interesting avenues of life. No, I am not a recluse or an alarmist. I just like to be comfortable around what I have and the people I know.  Then, I look around and see what all is available to me and thankful for my ability to adjust. Hard. Darn right. Then, I see this an an opportunity to adjust, apply myself, ask questions, get answers, check on line, and if all else fails, go back to my computer tech.

Every day I have fitness classes and try to get people to see new ways to handle their lives. Wow, what an insight I have to myself. Yes, my new computer, Lennie, will take a lot of my time, and yours, as I manipulate myself into the FUTURE.

Let us all remember the old, learn the new, embrace the future, and be part of life in every direction we want to go. I feel the warmth of arms around me as I make my way into this new venture of my life. Hang tight. We will get there.

Any comments are welcome, and I’d love to hear if you personalize your “things” for your lives/

One thought on “WITHDRAWL SYMPTOMS

  1. It’s comforting to know that I am not the only one in the world that gives names to my toys. I suspect it all started with the childhood dolls and what-nots. I have an old Compaq named Clovis that still runs MS XP with Office 2007 products. I fire her up once in a while, just for old time’s sake. I traded up for Tomas, my Toshiba laptop that runs on Win 7, with Office 2010. I will miss him dearly when he finally fades to black one last time. Timothy is my Toyota Corolla that I have driven since late 2009, when Gracie (God rest her soul), my ’97 Pontiac Grand Prix had to be put down. The march of time will go on and we with it, adapting to each new gadget that comes in the name of progress.

Comments are closed.